School Board

School Board Ice Cream Social - June 1, 2017

Nominee Information for 2017-2018 School Board

Lynden Christian Schools is a private, parent-run system governed by a Board of Directors who are elected by the school "Society," comprised of parents and others who support the school.  We are a member of larger organizations such as CSI - Christian Schools International, NWCSI - Northwest Christian Schools International, and WFIS - Washington Federation of Independent Schools. 

While we are a Christian school, we are not a school sponsored and controlled by one church as in a parochial school.  Lynden Christian School has a very diverse church support base of nearly 80 churches.  The parents control the school through an elected board of twelve members called the "School Board."

The School Board makes decisions regarding finances, hiring of personnel, providing and maintaining facilities, and determining the educational and operational policies and regulations. To implement these policies, the board appoints administrators. The head administrator is the superintendent. High school and K-8 principals are responsible for their respective buildings and staff, and are directly accountable to the superintendent.

School Board 2016-2017

Dr. Jacob Steiger, President
Mr. Jim Weinert, Vice President
Mrs. Vicki Huizenga, Asst. Secretary
Mrs. Stephanie Harvey, Treasurer
Mr. Scott Engels, Asst. Treasurer
Mr. Frank De Vries
Mr. Butch Kamena
Mr. Michael Ter Beek
Mr. Dan Turner
Mrs. Shawna VanderLeest
Mr. Dale  Van Rooyen
Mr. BJ Westra