School Board

Lynden Christian Schools is a private, parent-run system governed by a Board of Directors who are elected by the school "Society," comprised of parents and others who support the school.  We are a member of larger organizations such as CSI - Christian Schools International, NWCSI - Northwest Christian Schools International, and WFIS - Washington Federation of Independent Schools. 

While we are a Christian school, we are not a school sponsored and controlled by one church as in a parochial school.  Lynden Christian School has a very diverse church support base of nearly 80 churches.  The parents control the school through an elected board of twelve members called the "School Board."

The School Board makes decisions regarding finances, hiring of personnel, providing and maintaining facilities, and determining the educational and operational policies and regulations. To implement these policies, the board appoints administrators. The head administrator is the superintendent. High school and K-8 principals are responsible for their respective buildings and staff, and are directly accountable to the superintendent.

School Board 2017-2018

Dan Turner - President   
Michael TerBeek - Vice President  
Frank DeVries - Treasurer  
Vicki Huizenga - Secretary   
Shawna VanderLeest - Asst. Sec.   
BJ Westra - Asst. Treas   
Butch Kamena                     
Winerva Kramer             
Josh Levien              
Jacob Steiger              
Bryan VanLoo            
Dale VanRooyen